The Algiers Courthouse, located at 225 Morgan Street near the Algiers/Canal Street Ferry, was erected in 1896 to replace the Duverje Plantation home, which served as the courthouse from 1866 until it burned in the Great Algiers Fire of 1895. The Romanesque-style building provides essential government services to Algiers and stands as a revered monument to the past of our beloved hometown.

Services include small claims court, access to property ownership information, voter registration and absentee balloting, marriage licenses and weddings, and more.

City Engineers Linus Brown and Alonzo Bell designed this building, which was erected by John McNally. The Courthouse is the third-oldest courthouse in continuous use in the State of Louisiana. It was renovated by the City of New Orleans from 1979 to 1984.